June Update

So far this year I’ve had a lot of fun.

  1. Trip to Japan to sight-see and visit friends
  2. Reading lots of books
  3. Working hard and getting paid

Today I got a 10% raise! I was very surprised, last year I only got 2%. Earlier this year my coworker quit and took a lot of knowledge with him, leaving me as the only expert on our job. In my yearly review my boss mentioned that he was afraid I might leave. Maybe this is his way of getting me to stay longer. What I really need is a back-up, and they finally hired a replacement that starts next week. Having a lighter workload is what I’m really looking forward to, but a few extra bucks is also nice.

Books I’ve read so far this year:

011

I can definitely recommend “Uprooted” by Naomi Novik. It is full of adventure and magic, if you like those kinds of things. It takes place in a fictional Poland, and I was so inspired by the names and words used that I started studying Polish and picked up some Polish phrases! Now I’m ready to visit Poland and see some castles.

I also recommend “Staked” by Kevin Hearne. It’s the 8th book in a series though, so anyone should start with “Hounded” by Kevin Hearne. It’s about a 2000 year old Irish Druid living in Arizona that is being chased by gods. There’s a lot of humor, magic, mythology, and a hilarious talking dog! Great series, unfortunately the author said there will only be one more book published.

Not much news going on elsewhere. Still taking a break from dating, and quite happy! The other day at an after-work dinner with my coworkers I used the term “happily single” and my coworker didn’t blink an eye. She said she was happily single, too. I think she’s divorced. I think as I get older I will meet more like-minded people that don’t believe singledom is something that needs to be fixed.

 

June Update

Leave a Reply

