Gathering Support

This weekend I went home to visit my family and go car shopping. I bought a new car (yay!) but I also had a nice conversation with my brother. Lately the single mother by choice plan has been becoming more solid in my mind, and I’ve already brought it up with a couple of people in my life. I already know that one of my best friends has been thinking about it. I suggested it to my mother once, and all she said was, “You’ll find someone.” But the other night I was talking to my brother and all of a sudden I said, “I’ve got a crazy idea.” He listened to my idea, and then he told me that he had been thinking about adoption as a single father himself. He thinks it will be a long time before he can afford to adopt, but he’s had the idea. I guess a lot of people around my age start to think about alternatives when their “the one” doesn’t show up as soon as they’d like. Maybe it’s also our personalities: very independent, not willing to settle, set in our ways.

I have two people in my corner now, and one who will need some convincing. My mother will probably need the same amount of time I did to mourn the ideal “Plan A” that seems to be so popular (although divorce statistics suggest otherwise). Mourn I did, and it’s been a weepy several months of switching the radio station when a love song plays, avoiding romantic comedies at the movie theater, and staying off of Facebook.

I’m still waiting to hear back about a great job I had an interview for several weeks ago. If I can land this job, my dream of starting a family will become even more possible. Having support from my family is now in the works too.

Gathering Support

Leave a Reply

