Starting A Blog

I’m 27 1/2 years old. Only 4 1/2 years to go.

I’ve recently decided that I want to be a mom in the year 2020. I’ll be 32 years old that year. I think that sounds like a great year and a great age to start a family. Maybe I’ll even have my life in order by that time. I know that it might not happen as planned, but I think that if I’m at least trying to conceive (TTC) that year, then I can call myself a mom in progress.

I’m also considering becoming a single mother by choice (SMC). I would raise the baby on my own and the baby would be conceived using donor sperm. I think most people would be worried about the difficulty of raising a child by yourself. I’m not worried about that; I know I can do anything. I’m more worried about the affect it might have on the child to not have a dad around. But single mothers raise kids without a dad all the time, and they turn out alright.

I’ve been dating unsuccessfully for almost a decade now. People my age are getting married, buying homes, and having their first (or second!) kid. I always thought that would be me, but it hasn’t happened yet. Sometimes I think it hasn’t happened because I don’t want it to happen.

But 4 1/2 years is a long time. Will I meet a guy I want to have kids with by then? Maybe, but I can’t count on it. And either way I will be a mom. That’s all that matters. For now all I can do is plan and dream.

Usually I hate being reminded that I’m getting older, but when my half birthday rolled around this year I was actually excited. Only 4 1/2 years to go! I can’t wait to be a mom.

Starting A Blog

Leave a Reply

